There was a hub-bub in my yard yesterday.  Two robins, 1 catbird, and 6 finches were having a loud discussion.  The robins sounded alarmed and when I walked over to our picnic table, the cause for the alarm was evident.  The robins nest which we had noticed a few days earlier was lying upside-down on the ground.  We had been so entertained at supper one eve when we discovered the nest just a few feet above our heads.  The babies’ excited chirping over their supper added happy interludes to our dinner in the garden.  Every few minutes, as the mother perched above them,  each delicious morsel of worm was met with a burst of little voices singing their thanks in return.

Seeing their happy little home lying on the ground the next day saddened me, and the little ones were nowhere to be found.

The next morning, I watched in amazement as the mother robin was carrying on some secret activity.  I could tell she was taking great pains to not let me see what she was doing; flying in low and landing near the hostas.  My hunch was right.  After some careful investigation, I zeroed in on where I thought her little ones could be and when I pushed aside some large protective leaves there they were;  little bald creatures with just a few feathers replacing the sparse fluff here and here, their bright orange mouths open wide.

After doing a little research, I found that robins will continue to care for their young even when they fall out of their nest, bringing them food faithfully every 15 minutes, at the risk of their own lives. It is best to leave them alone and I will have to curb my curiosity to check on them frequently.

Our family has enjoyed using ABeka homeschooling resources throughout the years, and one of our favorite workbooks is their 3d grade Spelling and Poetry.  Not only does it include basic spelling exercises, it encourages children, (and therefore their parents,) to memorize precious poems that will be an encouragement for years to come.  One that has particularly been special to me is called,  Overheard in the Orchard.

Said the Robin to the Sparrow:
“I should really like to know
Why these anxious human beings
Rush about and worry so.”

Said the Sparrow to the Robin:
“Friend, I think that it must be
That they have no Heavenly Father
Such as cares for you and me.”

(Elizabeth Cheney, Streams in the Desert, October 10).

What a sweet reminder.

 

Leave a Reply

